Soap Nuts. . .Where have you been all my life?

I am so in love with soap nuts.  Seriously.  I got several trial size bags to start me off, I was initially planning on giving them to a few friends so we could all try them together, but I liked them so much I kept them all to myself and have been using them for the last month to do my laundry with.   I love them.  I have weird allergies to things randomly and have always had to be careful with laundry detergents, lotions, make up, and so on, I never really know what something is going to effect my skin.  I previously used Tide Free, but even though it is fragrance free and dye free it is still full of chemicals.  Then I heard about soap nuts.  A completely natural, sustainable, and apparently effective detergent. . .can it be so? I was a little skeptical, but still curious enough that I purchased the sample packs.  I didn’t do any fancy liquid or powder making.  I just threw the little bag with the soap nuts in the washer with my clothes. . . and Voila! my clothes came out clean looking, feeling, and smelling.   They clean my little grub-ball child’s clothes as well, and he gets pretty grubby during the course of a day.  I haven’t had a problem, and I never pre-treat anything.  Well since I have had such good results I decided to order more.  I ended up getting a 16 oz bag from NaturOli and 3 extra bags so I can force some friends to try them.   Yesterday I made up three little “sample packs” to give to my friends as well as some directions, and am patiently waiting to hear back.  As long as you buy a large enough package of the soap nuts they are a much better deal than commercial laundry detergent, at least the Tide that I was using, of course if you buy the small packages and trial sizes, it is not so much of a great deal, but really that is common sense.  I am really trying to get friends to fall in love so we can get together and order them in bulk.  You know. . .to save more money.

4 Responses to “Soap Nuts. . .Where have you been all my life?”

  1. I used them on my towels and liked them a lot. I didn’t have to use fabric softener and the towels came out soft and smelling nice.

  2. Michelle Says:

    i loved the soap nut experience. i was very surprised how incredibly soft my clothes were when i was taking them out of the washer. i’ve never had clothes that soft before! somewhat dubious (because everything was so soft), i put put everything up to line dry. the next day i took a good whiff of the clothes as i was taking them down, and they all smelled clean and looked clean to boot. i’m wondering if one could do a baking soda/soap nut combination in the washer for an extra good clean…

  3. I know, they do make your clothes soft, I never used fabric softeners, so I feel extra spoiled!

  4. I rarely create comments, but I looked at through a few responses on this page Soap Nuts. . .Where have you been all my life? | Saskats Guide to Cheap and Green Livin. I do have a few questions for you if you do not mind. Could it be simply me or do some of these remarks appear like they are written by brain dead visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing at other online social sites, I’d like to follow everything fresh you have to post. Would you list of all of all your social networking pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a comment